November 15th, 1999

Ultrex

by Ellyn Kerr • in Around the House

ultrex

I sometimes find myself proselytizing to friends about certain products I’ve purchased — genuinely proselytizing. Questioning why they don’t own product X, and how product X will improve certain aspects of their lives, and how once they’ve purchased product X, they’ll never understand how they got by without it.

While this instills a small degree of shamefulness for drawing friendships into a commercial arena — one from which, I assert, I stand to gain nothing, as I own no stocks of any kind — I must say in my defense that I honestly believe in the products I praise. Mine is not a personality generally prone to selling. At least, I hope not: after all, I hated the few telemarketing jobs I’ve had, cash bonuses and travel incentives notwithstanding.

That said, I feel no compunction in advising any and all to purchase, as soon as possible, Ultrex cookware.

Ultrex is the 18/10 stainless steel, nonstick cookware marketed by Innova. The nonstick surface, called “Excalibur”, is applied in a patented process, in which molten nonstick is sprayed onto stainless steel (see this schematic from a different cookware company, which gives a general idea of the process).

This renders the nonstick virtually unscratchable, unpeelable and unflakeable. That Ultrex cookware (including their tempered glass lids; including the welded attachment of handles; including utensils; including cutlery) comes with a 55-year warranty should bespeak of the calibre of Excalibur. (Sorry, had to do that.)

The process is patented, and licensed out: different cookware suppliers can use the Excalibur name, provided the patented production process is followed exactly.

Ultrex features include:

  • tri-ply aluminum base, totally flat bottom (no ridges), good for any stovetop surface, from electric to gas to ceramic; provides impressively even heating, such that food, whether at the periphery of the pan or at the centre, is evenly browned during cooking. This sounds, perhaps, an insignificant point, but if you’re swayed to purchase by this review, you’ll find yourself more than pleasantly surprised at the difference this heating surface makes. Recently I cooked some chicken breasts loaded with chopped garlic; I used but a small tablespoon of olive oil and no other liquids. Yet the small pieces of garlic, which in my other pans seem burn well before the meat is ever cooked, instead*caramelized*to beautiful toffee colour. Caramelized garlic? That alone should convince you.
  • 18/10 stainless steel — the highest grade possible; professional chefs use 18/10. Like 24K gold, this is the highest standard.
  • high-domed tempered glass lids with extra-large handles, providing a large gripping surface that prevents fingers being scorched by heating lids;
  • welded, not riveted handles. Innova claims this is a benefit, as it provides no area between rivet and pan, in which bacterial colonies could otherwise proliferate. Maybe a dubious claim, as I figure one should clean thoroughly enough to preclude bacterial growth, anyway; however, not having to scrub around and beneath a rivet is a welcome convenience;
  • - extra-long handles; a good several inches longer than standard pans. Also, some pieces feature a second “helper handle” 180 degrees opposite the main gripping handle, which provides much relief for anyone with hand or wrist problems, such as repetitive stress injuries, and provides added convenience for anyone else.
  • - the BEST nonstick surface I can imagine. Burnt marshmallows, as Art Krull, company spokesperson, loves to demonstrate on the Ultrex segments of USA Broadcasting’s Home Shopping Network, you can BURN marshmallows until they’re stinky and smoking, pour in some puffed rice, shake the pan from side to side for a few seconds, turn the pan upside down over a plate and*BAM*(borrowing from Emerill), not a*trace*of marshmallow left in that pan. This is what nonstick was meant to do; this is rarely, in inferior brands, what it does. I once overcooked some milk I was heating for a sauce. Using the vegetable sprayer in my sink caused the milk crust to literally, amazingly, peel off in one large piece. No scrubbing. NO SCRUBBING. And with Excalibur, one is no longer restricted to nonmetal, wooden cooking tools; i.e., you can use metal utensils. Art Krull calls it “guy-proof”. (His words.)

I’ve seen Excalibur nonstick offered online in a few other cookware lines (e.g., at www.eternity-enamel.com, which offers an aesthetically appealing porcelain enamel version, a la Creuset), but the polish of the stainless steel is, to me, the most homey. Plus, any other brand of cookware I’ve searched out on the Web that offers Excalibur has been up to several times the cost of Ultrex.

Ultrex can be purchased from the Home Shopping Network (HSN; do a keyword search for Ultrex) and at FirstAuction.com. Neither, though, ships to Canada, so for Canadian shoppers, eBay is the best alternative, though the prices may be a fraction higher.

I was skeptical of the testimonials I’d heard from callers-in to the Ultrex broadcasts on HSN. But after using it, I cannot praise this product enough. The only drawbacks are the recommended hand-washing (despite the fact that INNOVA markets Ultrex as dishwasher-safe), and its addictive quality. I started off with a single US$135 purchase for a set, which included a 1-qt covered saucepan, 2-qt covered saucepan with steamer insert, 12″ covered high-sided saute pan, 10″ omelette pan, 9″-square baking dish and a 5-qt dutch oven — i.e., a most ample array.

Yet I’ve since been compelled to purchase: a kettle, a covered wok, a covered grill, a muffin pan, a 3-qt saucepan, a double-boiler insert, an 8-piece knife set with wooden block, a springform pan and a fondue set. And this despite the fact that I’ve barely been cooking recently.

If call-in testimonials are to be believed, I am not the only such addict. But it’s a healthy one, I reckon, for all but my chequebook.

Ultrex cookware, 95%
negatives: recommended hand-washing; not readily available in Canada
positives: insane guarantee (any defects in 55 years, mail it back, get a replacement); ridiculously high quality

Comments(86)

Linda said:


I have a set of this ultrex. I bought it in 2001. The skillets lasted about 6 months before they started sticking. A few months later and you have to scrape the food off them like glue!
I sent them back. It was expensive! It took 4 months to get it back! 6 months later the new ones are sticking again. Now the rest of the set is starting to stick.
We had to buy other pans for stir-fry because according to the directions I got with this cookware you can’t turn it above medium heat.
My opinion!!
JUNK!!!

October 16th, 2005 at 11:06 am

Shell said:


I’ve been an Ultrex buyer for several years. I wish I would have had them when my children were home yet when I was doing megacooking. I love them and it is the only cookware I will ever purchase again. I was parboiling brats in a brand new pan and decided to go outside for a bit, totally forgetting about them. I came back in a half hour later to a smokey filled kitchen, and OH MY GOSH, I just ruined not only supper but my new sauce pan. How wonderfully surprised I was when I went to remove the charcoaled brats. All I had to do was dump them in the garbage and wash the pan with no after effects!

January 6th, 2006 at 12:20 pm

Paula Richardson said:


I also bought a set of this Ultrex. I have had the pans for about 2 years and they were great for about six months. Now I have some sticking, and a lot of nicks and scratches. I have sent two pans back about 3 months ago and was just told it would be another 6-10 weeks before I might see my pans again. The rest of the pans are also scratching, and I have been very careful with them. I certainly don’t want to send them back on warranty when it takes 4 months or better to get them back and the customer service people for the warranty are quite rude. I will not be purchasing one of these pans again in my life time.

April 28th, 2006 at 1:05 pm

Angel said:


I have had my Ultrex pans for 9 years now. I love them. However one frying pan started to stick…solution, I reseasoned my pans and it was like new. Yes I do have scrathces in them, but I use metal utensils. My only problem is that I want to order another large frying pan with helper handle and there are no Ultrex products on HSN..Did they go out of business? What happened? Where are they?

July 25th, 2006 at 11:59 am

jackie w said:


I purchased this cookware set from hsn and it was the biggest cookware purchase ever. The utensils broke during the first use. All of my nonstick coating came off. I will never own another ultrex cooking set ever.

July 25th, 2006 at 12:16 pm

warren sealy said:


sent ultrex pan back 4 months ago because coating wore off after 3 years, even though it was guarantied for 75 years. now i can’t rech ultrex to get my pan back. HSN will not help because they don’t sell ultrex now. Iwill never buy from HSN again, nor will i buy ultrex cookware again.

July 26th, 2006 at 4:09 pm

moscowanna@myprimus. said:


There cookware is junk, the $300.00 rotis,convection electronic brain blew at first power failure.As a matter all China electric items are junk, no parts inventory kept in USA.
The ultrex cookware nonstick flakes off with each use.I wonder if there is a class action suit pending because of exploding cookware.some how grease go into the bottom compartment that covers the aluminum and leaked onto to electric
eliment and burst into flame,almost burnt down my mobile home.Its All
very nice looking JUNK Never again
will I buy anything from CHINA

August 3rd, 2006 at 1:37 pm

Michael Kiefer said:


Teeeerrible company! It also appears they have gone belly up….not a big suprise. Received this set as a wedding gift. Pans were awesome for about 6 months and then were junk. Sent the big 12 inch pan back due to flakes of non-stick falling off! That was January 2006, today is August 15, 2006. Finally input complaints to the BBB to both Ultex and HSN (Home Shopping Network). Finally got a call from HSN, they are sending us some other pan which will probably go bad as well. Bottom line never buy from HSN (Home Shopping Network)…pure junk!

August 15th, 2006 at 5:50 pm

Charlotte Lowrance said:


The handle on my saucepan just snapped off.Thank goodness I had just poured up the contents and I was washing the pan .If this had happened when the pan was full I would have had a very bad burn.My pans have been sticking for a very long time. I would never buy this product again!

August 22nd, 2006 at 2:50 pm

Wanda Scott said:


I first purchased a set of Ultrex in 2000. Since then I have bought a two additional sets for my own use, plus several of their electrical products. I am 110 percent satisfied wit these products. They are all that the company promises. If used correctly the will last a lifetime. I bought my MOM a set for Christmas about 3 yrs ago, and just bought my son and daughter in law a set. They are awsome.

September 9th, 2006 at 4:28 am

Mary said:


I also purchased a set of Ultrex in 1998? It was nice for a while and then the pans started sticking.I sent a couple back and it took about three months to get them replaced,I kept calling and they finaly sent them. Now the pans are sticking and peeling.I would not recomend this product to anyone.

October 26th, 2006 at 7:58 pm

tracey said:


Well,
At least I only bought the one big skillet and its junk. I wont be buying anything else from HSN. Do we have the address of the Ultrex guy, i’d like to send him a pan via airmail.

November 3rd, 2006 at 3:45 pm

TJ Brown said:


I have been an Ultrex buyer/user for approximately 12 years. I have never had one problem with any of it. None of it is peeling or sticking. I own many, many Ultrex pans, as well as lots of electrical appliances (pressure cooker, electric skillet, grill, steamer, griddle, flash fryer, etc). I would love to have more of them, if I could find a source that sells it. My mom, daughter and sister all have Ultrex and love it. No problems with any of it.

November 7th, 2006 at 7:29 am

Theresa said:


It’s no surprise that when I called HSN to complain about my ULTREX cookware and tried to get a number to reach them, they told me ULTREX is no longer in business and hasn’t been for over 3 years.

November 28th, 2006 at 1:34 pm

judie vozka said:


I need to get an ultrex contol for the electric pressure cooker, does anyone know where I could do that?

December 26th, 2006 at 8:48 pm

Sharon said:


I, too, have a piece of flaking Ultrex. The 800 number for Innova has been disconnected. HSN will not honor the 55-year warranty, even though their own reps (in addition to the factory rep) bragged about it!

December 31st, 2006 at 3:27 pm

Tony said:


I finally wanted to see if this lousy company was still in existence so I could send this absolute junk back for a refund or replacement. Fortunately (I suppose) they are not. The non- stick finish did not exist after several months. Is that salesman still on TV ?

January 9th, 2007 at 5:13 pm

ken said:


I don’t know if this will help anyone, but in my original manuals for Ultrex, they listed a website “www.innova-inc.com” They do not list any Ultrex on their site, but it may be somewhere to start. Good luck.

February 12th, 2007 at 9:33 am

Mark said:


I have a few small pieces of Ultrex cookware, the last I purchased in 2005. So far I have not had any problems, in fact it works quite well.
I just wonder how long was HSN selling Ultrex even after Innova was gone. Art had stopped doing the presentations about the time I purchased my last piece.
So after all the years HSN/Art was singing it’s praises, now they don’t want to know nothing.
At least with QVC went you have a problem with their cookware you deal with them, not an outside company.

February 15th, 2007 at 7:51 am

Debbie said:


I have had my Ultrex ll cookware for 3 years and I love it. I have used metal utensils, but mostly use wooden utensils. The non-stick surface still looks great and food does not stick. I have never had cookware that cooks as evenly as this does. I do hand wash these pans because it is always recommended to do so with non-stick cookware. I have also followed all of the care instructions that came with my cookware…such as always cooking over a medium-high or lower temperature and occassionally seasoning my pans; yes…you are suppose to season non-stick cookware from time to time to maintain the surface! This is true of ALL non-stick cookware. I was very shocked to hear all of the complaints about this cookware. Mine has been wonderful and I a saddened to hear that the product is no longer being made. I was planning to purchase several more pieces.

February 22nd, 2007 at 6:33 pm

Teresa said:


I have been using Ultrex for at least 11 years and I love it. My sister just got some recently and loves her. However her mother in law hates hers. I think the biggest complaint that people have could be corrected if you read the directions and did not cook everything on High. I have gone from Gas to electric and just love my pans.

March 2nd, 2007 at 11:58 am

Lyn said:


I’ve had my Ultrex set since 2001, and have had some wear. I attribute this to using metal utensils and using high heat. Since I changed both of those things, I haven’t had any more problems with the finish coming off. In fact, I’m looking for a 6-quart stock pot right now.

March 11th, 2007 at 5:30 am

Phyl said:


I\’ve owned the ultrex convection/ rotisserie oven for 3 years and haven\’t had any problems until about a month ago and it just stopped heating. I also called hsn and nothing from them and was just going to ultex website when I ran across these comments. I hope there\’s going to be a class action suit

March 25th, 2007 at 1:21 pm

Thibor said:


I really was crazy about Art Krull on HSN. He seemed so nice and was a great salesman. I am sorry to say I am very disappointed in the two objects I purchased. And believe me I wanted them to work out. First, the convection oven’s bottom heating coil only half heats and gets red. Therefore, nothing cooks evenly. It is hard for me to get to the mail so I kept it and just coped. Then I bought the pressure cooker. I did successfully cook a couple things but then recently I get a letter from HSN saying the rubber gasket is dangerous and can spew hot liquid under pressure. Of course I’ll never use it again. By the way the instruction manual for the pressure cooker always aggravated me as it was so sloppyily written and contained numerous gramatical errors. I have to admit this (and I am so sorry) but I feel Art Krull’s products are not what he says they are. And I tried hard to look on the positive side.

March 25th, 2007 at 3:14 pm

Steve said:


I also bought a set of this Ultrex. I had them for about six months. The food is sticking to them like crazy glue and I can’t get it off. This Ultrex is junk. Please don’t be tricked into buying this. And I bet this page is selling the Email address of the people who post here, Soon the junk mail will start showing up.

March 31st, 2007 at 9:43 pm

Sam said:


I have the junky Ultrex cookware. I saved receipts for several years, and still HSN will not refund me. These have 75 year warranty! I have written to FTC, BBB, Fla Atty General. Wish there was a class action suit I could join. Shame on HSN — they have offered me nothing.

April 4th, 2007 at 1:40 pm

Sylvia Carden said:


I also sank a lot of money into junky Ultrex cookware and now, since I replaced and gave away all my GOOD cookware, all I have is a mess of scratched pots and pans that leak from the bottom onto the stove. As I understand HSN was co-owner with Innova, Inc and I talked to a customer service rep who told me they thought Art Krull was president of the Company and as it turns out, he was only an employee. I do not believe this since HSN was co-owner with Art Krull and this was their “in house” brand. I was told by HSN today to take it up with a lawyer if I wanted anything further that they have no responsibility with this debaucle. They told me they did not give any warranty that the warranty was given by Innova, Inc. who owned Ultrex brand merchandise. This did not seem plausible to me since HSN was co-owner, they should have done something to rectify the warranty situation. They did say they would give me a $50.00 credit toward my purchases of approximatels $800.00 worth of Ultrex. If you want your $50.00 credit, call customer service at 800-933-2887. You will probably have to get to a supervisor to get this credited to your account (they do not like to transfer you to a supervisor). I am trying one more tactic and that is to contact their legal department at HSN - Legal Department, PO Box 9090, Clearwater Fl. 33758 or their legal department number is 727-872-1000. They will not answer the phone so you have to leave a message. Remains to be seen whether of not they will answer the call and admit they too have a responsibility to rectify this situation. If anyone wishes to get involved in a class action suit, please post again and I will just give you my e-mail address.

July 6th, 2007 at 12:28 pm

Mark said:


To me it’s still what did HSN know and when did they know it. Were they still selling Ultrex even after Innova went OOB.
Why did Art stop doing on air presentations?
Oh I found another website Gardenweb.com where people are expressing similar problems.
It’s sure funny how HSN now has all these Big Name chefs, selling their cookware.

July 25th, 2007 at 7:11 am

Charlotte said:


I purchased a large set of Ultrex for my oldest son and his wife as a wedding gift. A few months later I purchased my youngest son and his wife a large set. Had I of know that the stuff was worthless I would have never wssted over $700.00. They both had it only a few months and it started sticking and the coating started coming off. I had purchased many of the items like a pressure cooker, electric pressure cooker(which burned up) and several skillets. I purchased them based on the sales pitch that Art and HSN delivered. I learned a very expensive lesson, don’t believe all that HSN says. I called HSN and found out they no longer sell or warranty Ultrex. What a disgrace that so many people are in the same boat. HSN shame on you, I hope your customers think twice before believing what you say again.

August 5th, 2007 at 6:24 pm

Sandra Floyd said:


I just contacted HSN to ask for the address for Ultrex so I could return some pans that are no good. They informed me that Ultrex is out of business and there is nothing they can do. My mother will be floored to learn this as she has thousands of dollars of Ultrex products. Yes, I would like to join the class action suit if one gets under way. Sylvia, please contact me at the above email address. Thanks, Sandra

September 5th, 2007 at 9:53 am

Pam said:


Wow! I’ve been using Ultrex for about 10 years, and have never had a problem. I love my Ultrex. They must have started cutting a lot of corners in the last few years for the quality to go so downhill. Too bad. I was planning on getting a stockpot (it’s been several years since I’ve bought any pieces). Guess I’ll have to find another brand.

October 14th, 2007 at 3:05 am

Sophia said:


I purchased this product (and a set of my sister) on the recommendation of the on air host, w/Art present pushing the product. Also the callers into the show swayed my decision. I would never purchase this product again (does not matter because they are out if business). I have some additional concerns which are what health affects does the faulty manufacturing on the non-stick coating have on us? Please stop using this prodict! We had to stop because on some pieces the non-stick coating lifted and others ommitted a chemical odor when used. If HSN was a co-owner they should be sued! I am interested in joining a class action because I feel that there are health risks that have not been considered. Didn’t DuPont just settle a case for their non-stick coating?

October 26th, 2007 at 9:57 am

Kim H. said:


Seems to me that HSN should take some of the responsbility for the sell of these products. They put this on the air and was standing by the products. I purchased the set and the Slow cooker. The lid broke and then they sent me the wrong lid back and I never did get the right lid for the cooker.I will be glad to be in on the Law suit with HSN if enough people will stand up and do something about this. These companies should not be allowed to get away with this. Too much oney for both companies.

October 28th, 2007 at 5:13 am

FINN said:


10/28/07 Just now found out about INNOVA going out of business and no longer honoring 75 year warranty. Pans have lost non-stick coating and the “SUPERVISOR” at HSN told me that HSN is not responsible for warranty (although she said that HSN tried to get another company to honor the warranty)…what does that mean. She also said, no compensation from HSN…not even credit (which I would use for other cookware set). So, let me know if there is a class action suit against HSN/INNOVA. Oh, if you want to write to the HSN, here is the address for their legal dept. Legal Dept (re: ULTREX ISSUE),P. O. BOX 9090, Clearwater, FL 33758

October 28th, 2007 at 8:13 pm

sherry said:


I too have a set of the great Ultrex>>>>>>>>>>first 6 mos was great…then crap….just think we ingested that non stick finish. So much for the “warranty” Haven’t ordered from HSN since & won’t.Shame on them both !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

November 6th, 2007 at 7:03 pm

Sheila Garner said:


sometime ago i purchased an Ultrex processor/blender/coffee grinder.. was told
my HSN that they could help me find a replacement manual( they were lost during a move)like pulling teeth.. i was send here and
there.. HELP!!!! i really need to find these
manuals..

November 10th, 2007 at 8:39 pm

Kevin said:


Well…where do I begin. Purchased our set a few years ago thinking this was going to be a great set for my bride who cooks like a master chef. After only a few weeks, the lids fell apart. A few months later the pans started loosing their non-stick capability (a common tale from all the postings I’ve seen). Keep your receipts folks in case a class action suit develops…I’ll certainly join in! HSN has the “deep pockets”, right?

December 9th, 2007 at 10:08 pm

Rosie said:


Ultrex was such a rip off.
I got a large set and it lasted but several months before most of the pans started sticking and the coating peeled off. It took me FOUR months and $11.00 to get a knob replacement. (so much for the life time warranty)
It is not surprising to me that they are no longer in business.
I also no longer shop at HSN because of this issue. They have not a darn thing about this product they touted and touted and now so many customers are just plain stuck with this crap.

December 15th, 2007 at 11:44 pm

Edward Skow said:


I have had some good luck with Ultrex and Bad luck with it as well… I too would LOVE to get in on ANY class ACTION Law Suit against Both Innovex and HSN if one should come to pass.. Sylvia I am ON board with this Fiasco for I am Tired of all the run around and no Help from a company that makes MILLIONS of dollars and leaves us all standing in the CRAP left behind in thier wake…
As for ART the “SALEs” guy, I truly feel sorry for him as a whole. Being told one thing and then another happening thier after. My Real Question is Did he know the company would go Bankrupted, I DOUBT IT, most people do not know as “Employees!”

SO Slyvia I await hearing from you soon…

Mr Ed

December 17th, 2007 at 2:59 pm

Emma Johnson said:


If anone get a class action lawsuit going count me in. I too have bought many piecies from hsn.The control knob on my oven broke inside therefore I dont know what the temperature is. It also stoped heating as it should.Most of my skillets stick. The pieces that I dont use often are still usable. I believed everthing art said about ultrex but as time went by. some of it just didnt hold up

December 29th, 2007 at 5:03 pm

Andrea said:


I have had my Ultrex for 10 years. I have many pieces. Sauce pans, 4 differnet skillets, stock pot, dutch oven and love the combination deep 4″ side 11″ diameter skillet, stock,soup and pressure cooker unit. My ultrex finish is wearing, and has some scratches, but is still non stick. I did not put them in the dishwasher only occasionally. Depending on what was prepared in utensil, such as oatmeal etc. I would let utensil cool, rinse with water, dry it and put away. I love Ultrex and would most positively continue to use it. The best I have ever owned.

January 1st, 2008 at 11:04 am

al said:


i purchased a set of the ultrex pots and pans for my wife oh not quite sure how long ago at least
7-10 yrs ago. we are very satisfied with ours. we use both metal and wooden or plastic utensils. we do experience some sticking now and then but i just reseason them when it occurs. i have read many of the posted comments and it makes me wonder if those that are experiencing problems seasoned their pans as required before ever using them. it is stated in the paperwok that come with them.

January 1st, 2008 at 2:16 pm

michele said:


Sylvia, I’m with you! Shame on HSN! I’ve gone back to my ‘old’ stainless steel set, purchased in 1967, still looking and working terrifically. I wanted Ultrex because of the ‘non-stick’ quality, only to realize there was none. The entire set scratched, food stuck, and even the utensils broke after only a few uses.

January 6th, 2008 at 8:50 am

E G BEALL said:


Folks did you “see” he Recall Alert from the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission? Alert #07-509. It about Ultrex pressure cooker # 11453. If you have one DO NOT USE IT!! as the lid may blow off, read the report, folks have been hurt when the lid blows. I have one and just today found this alert, nothing from HSN about it.

Just the other day I was changing channels and low and behold there was Art Krull sell cookware on a Spanish station, using an interpreter, same style as he used with Ultrex.

January 20th, 2008 at 12:28 pm

josie winter papa said:


Beware of HSN and of Utrex/Innova - they offered a lifetime warrantee on their items, something that HSN always stated that they stood behind….at least when I purchased the pots….when one got really bad, I went online to see what would be the closest replacement piece and I got a Message…”sorry, Ultex/Innova are out of business and will not honor their warrantee”….when I called HSN and told them they had no right to allow merchants to offer warantees, if they HSN would not honor them, they told me that was their policy….I made a pretty big stink, so they put on a supervisor who offered me $50 in store credit for the piece….I asked what about the other 25 or more pieces that I have that may or may not be damaged? They said that was all they would do….I told them to keep their $50.00 and I would Blog my experience to people who spend their hard earned money and believe in the warrantees -especially coming from a source such as HSN….they or any telemarketer should be regulated to clearly state to the buyers who trust them, that if the manufacturer goes out of business, that they will not honor the manufacturer’s warrentee…so truly in dealing with HSN, “Let the Buyer Beware”.

January 30th, 2008 at 7:57 am

evita castro said:


I am also having the same problems with all of my ULTREX pots and pans I purchased from HSN. When i tried contacting HSN i have not gotten a response so if there is going to be a lawsuit please let me know. ecastrosd@yahoo.com

February 5th, 2008 at 7:17 pm

Marianne said:


Would anyone have a paddle for an ultrex bread machine that I could buy?

February 10th, 2008 at 9:55 am

ursula smith said:


i bought ultrex about 10 yrs ago,teflon started looking like sandpaper after a while. then it started sticking i never used metal utensils but it still scratched.my soup pot is peeling and cant be used anymore. i still have some of my old reviere ware that i bought 30 yrs ago it is being used again. if there is a classaction suit i will join. sincerely Ursula.

February 19th, 2008 at 10:31 am

Bill Austin said:


I have had Ultrex since 1998, loved my original set of pans, have recommended them to TONS of friends and family, even ordered more Ultrex stuff over the years, and sadly with Ultrex 2 products and later (especialy the knives) the product quality went down hill for me.

I recently had trouble with a few pans and went to go send them in only to find Innova went out of business, HSN says they can’t help even tho every segment i saw for Ultrex had them on tv saying how great this warranty was and how we would never have to buy another pan again, and how it had the good housekeeping seal of approval and was rated for commercial use even.

If anyone does form a class action suit I want to be a part of it I now have hundreds of dollars worth of cookware that has no warranty and is sticking and flaking apart.

If I ever see that guy who demoed Ultrex (art I think his name was) I will not put in print what I will say or do to him but it will not be nice…

Bill

February 22nd, 2008 at 12:16 am

Connie Dingus said:


I bought two (2) 11 pc. sets of Ultrex N/S for my grown children. I also bought a 10 pc. set for myself as well as a 3 qt. covered saucepan. My daughter had to buy a new cookware set (not Ultrex) about a year ago and my son’s Ultrex lasted maybe 7 months before it was rendered useless! My set of cookware is awful now as the non-stick coating is completely worn off and everything sticks. I haven’t attempted to get replacements yet but if you have to wait 4 plus months, what are you suppose to use for cookware? I would NEVER purchase Ultrex again. I even recommended this cookware to family members who have had the same expereience I have.

February 29th, 2008 at 9:44 am

Randy said:


We have a set - nonstick no longer works. Nobody will stand behind the warranty. We had used HSN for electronics a number of times. Because they will not stand behind these (believe it or not, they still sell Ultrex in their catalog returns and overstock stores), we have never bought from them again.
Art should go bankrupt for shady business practices. He has no integrity.

March 21st, 2008 at 3:51 pm

Denise said:


I purchased a set of Ultrex about 5 years ago. About 1 year after they started sticking really bad and the nonstick black stuff came off on my food. The frying pan lids when you grab the handle would spit out the steam and burn your hands. The frying pans would also leak water from the bottle onto your burners. I never purchase another set again. They are junk I am stuck with $150 of worthless junk we can’t use. HSN should be ashamed of promoting these products.

March 27th, 2008 at 4:14 pm

Linda said:


I too purchased Ultrex sets for myself and 3 grown children. If someone knows how or if it’s possible to start a class action suit, please let me know. I’m out 4x’s $150.00 and then some for extra pieces. This is so wrong.

April 6th, 2008 at 11:51 am

Laura said:


I purchase many pieces of Ultrex, for myself, daughters and for wedding gifts. I did have trouble with some sauce pans and sent them back without any trouble. Then went I went to sernd other peeling products back, the custumer service rep. at Innova was very rude and said I needed to send my original receipt. Never had to do that before. Should have know then, something was up. First couple of pans were made in Indonesia, then like everything else we buy, the rest was made in China.
I was very disappointed with this product and felt like HSN and Art Krall were falsly advertising this product.
I too wonder about the health issues, and tell my kids to toss the pans away if they look like they’re peeling.
I too would be interestd in a class action suit.
Laura

April 13th, 2008 at 2:24 pm

janice said:


I have had ultrex for several years now also. I just started to get around to sending some pieces back because they are totally in affective. Peeling and same other complaints. Was surprised to learn that the company had gone belly up. Very disappointed learning that HSN will not help in any way. I have purchased so much from them over the years. Shelia Garner, I bought the blender/food processor/coffee grinder. E mail me and I could send you the manual, since my processor broke almost imediately. I know I still have it, I just have to locate it.

May 6th, 2008 at 12:59 pm

Pam Holmes said:


I purchased several sets and a ton of extra pieces. All of them are falling apart now. I also have a brand new pressure cooker with no gasket which, of course, makes it worthless.
Count me in on any lawsuit. I started out on this site to find the blog about the exploding pressure cooker (in case I ever find a gasket for it) but never read one about that.

May 16th, 2008 at 12:44 pm

Gloria said:


I am so shocked about Ultrex. I have not had a problem with the cookware nor knives purchased. I have purchased so many pieces from HSN over a 10 year period and some items I still haven’t even used. half way afraid to now. I guess the 55/75 yr warranty WAS too good to be true. Well HSN you have lost me as a customer. I agree with other comments, HSN, you should be held to some sort of responsibility from your promoting the products. Extremely disappointed.
I guess the same has taken place for the Maxiglide hair straightener HSN promoted. Shame on you.

May 23rd, 2008 at 8:26 am

mammmaLUc said:


I can’t stop laughing–searching on HSN yesterday ..when i had the time for another Ultrex pressure cooker—just googled it and found out they were recalled !LOL !!!!
….came over here and see bad news about Ultrex–outta business—OMG I’m still laughing–I’m calling HSN tomorrow in the AM to find out what gives here.
Will truthfully admit I DON’T UNDERSTAND HOW A LOCKED LID COULD EVER OPEN on a pressure cooker,is it possible that they weren’t “closed” correctly ? recall only stated 2 reports and yes it is a horrendous accident buuuuuuuuuuttt,you lock the lid. IT LOCKS,you turn it till it locks–has grooves to line up –and LOCK.
anyway,i certainly DO REMEMBER THOSE PRESENTATIONS,right down to the guy putting a brillo to it and of course ! nothing happens…can’t explain away the scratches in the bottom of my PC as NEVER was anything metal beyond THEIR steaming rack was near it.
resting,not moved around–

Good luck to all out here –and all the best -

July 18th, 2008 at 10:27 pm

Donna Goodin said:


I too have purchased Ultrex and was disappointed. I think HSN should have to refund all of the customers that have had problems with this cookware. Good luck with that though.

July 30th, 2008 at 11:30 am

Danielle said:


I will never purchase Ultrex again. I have a full set and all of them are worthless. They advertise on HSN as the best thing since sliced bread. WRONG!!! .. I followed the care instructions and after 5 months my food was sticking to the pan. I do not recommend this to anyone who want to invest in a good set of cookware. You can find a better product at Walmart or Odd Lots.

October 1st, 2008 at 8:51 am

paula yetter said:


Well I see I’m not the only one taken advantage of by HSN’s “commitment to quality”,very dissappointed to say the least. The Ultrex cookware I purchased have peeled and flaked, making them hazardous to use. The sad outcome of this is not just the money, it’s the millions of pieces of cookware that will end up in our landfills!! Class Action anyone? Count me in pyetter@yahoo

November 11th, 2008 at 12:56 pm

Dee said:


You guys are cracking me up! Do you honestly think that HSN is responsible for honoring someone else’s warrantee? They were telling you what the manufacturer was offering, not offering it themselves! Yes, the Ultrex pans suck and so does the company - that’s why they’re now out of business!!! You can’t blame HSN for that. How could they have known that the pans and the company were both worthless? But you guys go ahead with your lawsuits and your boycotts. HSN has 3 million customers. I don’t think they need you.

November 21st, 2008 at 11:58 pm

Wright said:


My mother bought these and gave them to me I went to the er because the pan exploded and flew by me my ear is immflamed and my head still hurts not to mention the top of my stove is broke and it also flew up and broke my air vent particles and food all over pan broke In 2 pieces need anew stove a hood vent and someone 2 pay er bill. This is by far over it’s just begun someone will pay

July 23rd, 2009 at 12:04 am

Linda said:


I have an Ultrex ll Convection Oven with hot dog roller and griddle given as a gift. Does anyone know anything about this oven. I’ve only used it a couple of times and has worked great for me. I’m trying to get more information about it. Can’t find it anywhere.

August 21st, 2009 at 11:06 pm

Bobby said:


Same problem on ultrex ll/75 year warranty:
Sylvia, Please contact me about law suit, if any. Thank You bobdons1@comcast.net

September 26th, 2009 at 10:12 pm

tyler said:


These pans suck as well as HSN they are not backing up the warranty they advertised. I bought some big set that was supposed to last forever They did not come close. Everything sticks to them. HSN should cover the warranty but of course they are not I will never shop with HSN again.

November 14th, 2009 at 9:15 pm

Misty said:


Junk! And they will NOT honor the warranty. It’s easy to guarantee a product for 75 years, but if you don’t honor that warranty it means nothing. Do NOT buy this junk!

November 25th, 2009 at 6:04 pm

Sue said:


I had an Ultrex pan that EXPLODED and sent cooking oil to my ceiling, cahinets and 30 feet away when the lining separated from the inside of the pan. The pan lifted up and landed on my smooth surface stove and CRACKED it. DO NOT BUY ULTREX!!!!!!

December 5th, 2009 at 12:03 pm

Pat C said:


Love my Ultrex. Bought sets for 3 grown children and myself. Also own many of their appliances.
Never have had anything stick, or the coating flake. Personally I love the domed electric skillet & zip cooker.
I don’t know why others are having such problems. Have had my set for 8-9 years.

December 7th, 2009 at 1:30 pm

Anissa L said:


I purchased my Ultrex in 1993, when it first came out. The lid for the saute pan exploded after about a year of use. I had it replaced under warranty, but I’m still leary of the glass lids. The saute pan is in HORRIBLE shape, despite careful use and cleaning. I think the higher heat used on it affects the coating, because it emits a horrible smell when browning meat, etc. I’m about to toss it, due to health concerns from the smell.

March 1st, 2010 at 7:39 pm

sonny said:


Awful!!!! look good but….after few months or after a year this cookware start falling apart. Hard to get the warranty dept to answer or HSN An is so disgraceful the HSN don’t do anything for the customers. At the end HSN loose customers and credibility am glad the Ultrex is out business.Life go on, now I shop for the competion so far so good an the customer services people are awesome!!!!

April 5th, 2010 at 10:46 am

Kris said:


I can’t believe the trouble so many of you have had with the Ultrex products.

Bought mine way back when HSN first started selling it. I’ve lost track of the time, but it’s been maybe 10 years (?)

I have MANY pans and LOVE THEM ALL. Yes, there are some scratches, but no sticking, flaking, or anything else.

Guess I’m just lucky.

April 8th, 2010 at 2:24 pm

Kris said:


I remember hearing that the ULTREX II had problems and that’s why the company went out of business.

I think it is very sad.

April 8th, 2010 at 2:27 pm

Mrs. Salyers said:


I think it is terrible that Hsn will not give credit for the ultrex cookware because one of their employees said how great it was and it was under warranty for 55 to 75 years. Art really bragged on it . I have been out a lot of money. Mrs Salyers

May 10th, 2010 at 3:16 pm

Your Friend Ken said:


For several years now I had similar feelings as to the China products we are all purchasing. For the most, the products are cheep, replacement parts and/or warranties are basically not available or worthless, and manufacturer names conveniently disappear after 6 to 12 months. Irregardless, as consumers we are in a vicious cycle that is destroying America on an elevated scale, all for the “Dirty Dollar.”

The real problem lies right here at home in the USA. Greed; “American” corporations, all demanding more profit and eagerly “Specify” the “quality of the product” that is on the market for the consumer, and the failure a Government that should be protecting the people rather than standing back and allowing our country to be excessively polluted with toxic garbage that is drastically filling our part of the Earth by the minute. The blame put on China is a repeat of the early importing from Japan in the 50s and 60s, and so the cycle returns, but this time with full prior knowledge of the disastrous consequences that this is VERY BAD for the future of Americans. Steadily increasing, and now over Eight Million out of work here and Millions of families still losing their homes. Continuance in bailout of the corporate and banking institutions might be a fine thing if the interest of the people as a whole was cared for first. Back to the import situation flooding our market. There are quite a few American made parts shipped abroad for the sole purpose of undermining of American jobs. I found this site because I was looking for an American made part that FAILED in my Ultrex Convection Oven. Funny, it was the American part that failed, a Bi-metallic contact switch, something we have been making since the 1920’s. I have found that if you want an EXCELLENT QUALITY product, buy it online from a place like Sweden. The Government there is for the people and all about a “True Green” life style protecting their environment for the best. Their products are made specifically to last a lifetime with product support even 30 years down the road, and recycling everything when obsolete.

I am an American born Norwegian that has lived here through eight US involved conflicts and/or wars. Policy nor support for Americans here has not improved, in fact, the opposite is more true, all because of Money & Control.

If we the people want to complain about products that continue to be headed for the garbage dump in a few years of use,the solution is Quit buying the junk on the shelf here in the US and look elsewhere. How many items must we buy and toss out before we realize that we are being served garbage and contributing to the destruction of the environment on a massive scale?
It’s your money, your time, your family, and your life that is suffering and being nosed in the dirt by the shelved products offered to you, me, our families, etc.
Before you make another purchase here or online, take some time, do some research and discover the fine quality of truly useful products that some caring nations use.

Have a nice day!

October 8th, 2010 at 10:13 am

CHERI A. MUNOZ said:


I STARTED PURCHASING ULTREX IN 1998, I DO HAVE A LOT OF THE PRODUCT. I HAD TO SEND MY SON’S 21 PIECE SET BACK AFTER SIX MONTHS….IT SOMEHOW GOT LOST (I HAVE THE UPS DELIVERY RECEIPT) NEVER HEARD FROM THEM AGAIN. I CAN’T REALLY PLACE TOTAL BLAME ON HSN. I DO, HOWEVER THINK THAT ART KRULL IS THE BIGGEST LIAR AROUND. I ALSO GOT THE STORY THAT INNOVA WENT OUT OF BUSINESS….GEE, CAN YOU GUESS WHY?? NO INTEGRITY, BUSINESS ETHICS, OR COMMON DECENCY. I TRULY LOVED THE PRODUCT IN THE BEGINNING, BUT THE OUTRAGEOUS WARRANTY SHOULD HAVE BEEN AN INDICATION. FOR THIS I AM ASHAMED. AS MY PIECES FALL APART, I THROW THEM OUT. I SPENT CONSIDERABLE MONEY ON ULTREX, AS DID MILLIONS OF OTHER PEOPLE. I AM KEEPING MY EYES OPEN FOR MR. KRULL. I DO BELIEVE A CLASS-ACTION LAW SUIT IS IN ORDER.

June 25th, 2011 at 9:37 am

Jeff said:


Ellyn…
I guess you kinda’ pooped the sheets on this one. There’s more than a few of us upset over being sold a bogus warranty. Mine lasted longer than most… about 4 years without issues and I loved them the whole time, but in 2008, when I tried to find out how to get a sauce pan replaced… well, we all know the results. HSN’s C/S washed thier hands, and the BBB says we get a “$25 credit”… WOW… That’s compensation for the $400 I spent on a set that’s supposed to last a “75 years”. Now I find out there was a recall? “Non-stick coating seperates and propells itself forcably,possibly burning the user”. How many people got THAT memo?
While I can’t be completly negative, the Wok included in the set I bought is stil in great shape. Maybe because I only used it 3 or 4 times in the past 8 years.

December 17th, 2011 at 11:43 am

Warren Yadon said:


I purchase Ultrex II cookware with a lifetime quaranty and of course it never lasted, the pots and pans inner covering became degraded after a few years and the company appears to be out of business. Or they won’t honor the quarantee. So if your buying because of the quarantee don’t bother. Buy something else.

March 2nd, 2012 at 8:54 pm

Dianne said:


I bought a set of Ultex Cookware from HSN in 2003 when we moved into our new house. I LOVED the Ultrex. It did in fact after about 6 months (like the other comment stated) started to stick. I have used it since 2003. I love the way it heats up so fast & cooks fast. There is however a complaint that I need to make. In the large stew pot, (which I use alot)
the inside bottom of the pot the nonstick coating peeled completely off last week. Only the steel showing. It has such an odor to it that I soaked it in hot water with dishwashing liquid & clorox for a couple of hours. The odor is still there and I’m now afraid to use the pot to cook in. Being that there is or was, such a long warranty, does anyone know how I could get a new pot or contact anyone about this?

May 16th, 2012 at 1:19 pm

Darlene said:


I’ve had my Ultrex sinec 1997 and I’m still using them I still love them. I just wish I could get more I need some small fry pans and am afaraid to get any others cause other never last at all. Darlene

December 1st, 2012 at 11:49 am

Freddie N. Verner said:


I have tried in vain to locate a retailer who can sell me a Ultrex Reversible Electric Grill Griddle Combo.
West Bend have one that is close to this item.

December 7th, 2012 at 4:27 pm

Freddie N. Verner said:


Dear Sir,
After locating this mystery product ultrex reversible slectric grill griddle combe on amazon.com (tey are out of stock) I have yet to find a place where I can buy it.

January 21st, 2013 at 9:00 am

Gary said:


People should know that a warranty is only as good as the Company behind it. There is no legal action to be taken. The product was made in Korea, and the later versions were not of the same quality. There was so many returns, the Company could not financially keep up with it. Thus, they went out of business. 1000’s of companies go out of business every year. Innova is just another one of them. Just be wary next time you purchase an item because of it’s warranty. Research the Company to see how strong they are, and look at the reviews for the quality of the product.

January 22nd, 2013 at 4:13 pm

Freddie N. Verner said:


If you can provide a tip as to where I can buy a ultrex reversible electyric grill griddle combo, I will appreciate it.

February 7th, 2013 at 3:54 pm

Nancy R said:


I must have purchased the earlier Ultrex cookware. I only have a skillet and a large saucepan and lids but sure wish I would have gotten a whole set of this before they started changing the way it was made and subsequently went belly up. I also purchased mine from HSN probably back in the early 90’s. They have outlasted 2 Kitchen Aid cookware sets! Everybody thatbis dissatisfied with it obviously got the newer stuff. Such a shame they had to mess a good thing up.
My Ultrex ll doesn’t even so much as have a scratch and I can cook what ever I want and the no stick surface is just exactly that…no stick. Just wanted people to know this really was an awesome product at one time!

January 24th, 2014 at 2:49 pm

David Correll said:


Love our Ultrex Cookware, but I need to find some
replacement egg poaching cups, anyone know where that can happen?

June 13th, 2014 at 6:17 am

Post a comment

 

recent reviews
August 8th, 2011
Stephanie Segal
July 31st, 2011
Stephanie Segal
December 14th, 2010
Stephanie Segal
September 2nd, 2009
Wendell Weeks
March 28th, 2009
Wendell Weeks
March 9th, 2009
Stephanie Segal
Reviews | RSS 2.0
Comments | RSS 2.0
about us
ReviewGuys is special because we review anything that can be reviewed. Basically, we are guys who review the world.
categories